Strong Man by Jimmy Strange and Merchant of Magic

Strong Man by Jimmy Strange and Merchant of Magic

Only £49.99

Availability: In stock - available for immediate dispatch

Order will ship Monday

Rating
13 Review(s)

Strongman by Jimmy Strange is a new method for visually bending metal that is easy to do and super practical.

 

 

Merchant of Magic is proud to present the latest brain child of Jimmy Strange.

Metal bending is always best when it happens visually and slowly, it is undeniable. Still to this day, metal bending is one of the strongest most believable pieces of magic you can perform. There is something mesmerizing about watching cold hard steel bend and warp. It cannot be explained as sleight of hand or misdirection, it is more likely to be described as mind over matter or a supernatural phenomenon.. that's what makes it so powerful.

Strongman by Jimmy Strange is a completely new concept in metal bending, a new type of gimmick that can be felt as solid yet can bend upon your command. No more needing to carry around extra props for impractical methods. Strongman can be used over and over again as it resets instantly and requires no set up, it is ready right out of the box.

With Strongman you will be able to show your spectators a solid nut and bolt, they can feel it and check it, it is solid, yet at any moment you can make the bolt bend as if it were made of rubber. You can even hold it and have your spectators rub the bolt and cause it to bend, they actually feel it melt with no effort whatsoever. It can then straighten back to its original state leaving your spectators dumbfounded and wondering if all they saw was actually real. Instantly the bolt is solid again, the spectators can feel this. All of this is done with NO SETUP AND NO SWITCHES.

You can use Strongman on its own but it is the perfect accompaniment to any metal bending routine.

Visual
Easy to perform
No setup
No switches
No temperature issues
Instant reset
Full routines taught on tuition download

Metal bending has a brand new string to its bow, here are what professionals all over the world are saying about Strongman:

"It is extremely rare that a new principle is created for magic, Jimmy has not only done this, but used it for an amazing effect. I will be carrying Strongman with me everywhere!"
- Marc Lavelle

"Offbeat, genius, and quality magic, created by a quality magician. Strongman is highly recommended"
- Kieron (Johnson) Lefever

"Since it's first prototype development, I've been performing Strongman at all my close-up gigs. I can't recommend this enough. That moment when the spectator bends the bolt with the tip of their finger is priceless.."
- Dominic Reyes

"Strongman is something truly magical, workable and mind blowing. Honestly felt childhood wonderment all over again, that doesn't happen often."
- Steve Rowe

"Let's look at it this way. You hand a nut and bolt out for examination. You then take it back and WITHOUT switching it you bend it.. You can then fix it and hand it back out again with NO switches! Read that again, no switches! It just doesn't get any better than this"
- Alan Rorrison

Manufacturer No
Featured Product No
Ridiculously expensive for what it is Review by David
Rating 20%
OK, I was in engineering so I knew what things cost to do. A very disappointing piece of kit that doesn't work as easily as it seems. I've dumped mine

(Posted on 04/11/2016)

Good Props Review by Hristo Kulev
Rating 100%
Good props, the effect is stunning. A small drawback is that the head of the bolt rotate slightly in the examination of a spectator and that can be seen.

(Posted on 13/07/2016)

Very good video and Easy Review by John Bullock
Rating 100%
Very good video and easy to learn I have already performed four of the tricks and at my age that's pretty good

(Posted on 01/06/2016)

Strongman review Review by Jim M
Rating 100%
Very good close up trick and easy to do I will keep it in my pocket to use At will regards Jim

(Posted on 01/06/2016)

Strongman Review Review by seamus burke
Rating 100%
Very well made gimmick, with some great routine ideas included in accompanying video. Visual effect is great but be careful about letting anyone inspect it for too long as is possible to accidentally discover the secret. ( I discovered it whilst waiting for video to load) Overall great trick , good for walk about or a metal bending routine.

(Posted on 01/06/2016)

An easy to do fooler that will work into about metal bending routine you do. Review by Videoman
Rating 80%
I work with nuts and bolts almost every day and have done so for decades, which is the reason I got this. It's a very organic prop for me.
It doesn't look exactly like a bolt but close enough that it would have probably fooled me if I didn't know what I was looking for. The fact that the nut screws and unscrews exactly like any nut is a real convincer.

The effect is cool and the prop is well made and very functional. Hard to tell yet if the majority of these are working fine or having problems but if you have one that releases properly it is an excellent prop for the money.

It's far from perfect and there are some downsides. You have to hold it in the bent position or it will unbend by itself. It's pretty tricky to hold with one hand so both hands are required which is a bit unnatural looking. They can't examine it in the bent state without a switch involved. It would have been nice to have included an ungaffed matching bolt, that would have been most helpful.

It's looks cool, you hand someone the bolt and nut and and ask them to see how fast they can spin the nut on the bolt. Then you take it back and immediately bend it, and then unbend it and drop it back in their hand. I actually think the unbending looks spookier than the bending.

As far as examination, the bolt can receive a cursory examination and by that I mean they can try to bend it see that it is very solid, which is really all you need. But allowing them to spend too much time will probably result in them stumbling across something they shouldn't. So I wouldn't show this to anyone who seems absolutely intent on busting you.

I don't really consider this a stand alone routine. But more as lead in to another metal bending routine. That way they can look at the bolt for just a moment as you quickly go into something else, and just about any metal bending you do after that will cancel out the method used in Strongman. I will probably follow it with my version of Matt Mello's Energy Coins.

So I would score this an 8 out of 10. If it works properly it is an easy to do fooler that will work into about metal bending routine you do. The "no switch" is a great feature. There is something about taking it from them and immediately handing it back to them with no funny business. But again, a big selling point for me was that bolts and fasteners are so common in my environment. But I don't think a nut and bolt would seem out of place in a restaurant or strolling gig or a formal close-up show.

(Posted on 03/04/2016)

I like it a lot Review by Martin Wareing
Rating 100%
Mine was a little bit tight when it arrived but soon loosened up with use. I spent a long time trying to operate it with my thumbnail before I saw the bit of video that explains that there is an easier way but you really don't want it to be too easy.
I handed this out to a friend of my daughter and she had it for about 5 minutes and accidentally discovered the secret using the alternative method.

Don't leave it too long in the spectator's hands.

Nice though - I do like it a lot.

(Posted on 02/04/2016)

I am quite certain it indeed fools. Review by Eddie Garland
Rating 100%

I like this visually and simply for its storytelling potential.

Now that I own it...I have actually seen it entertain others.
I am quite certain it indeed fools.

I slowly and bend bolt first and THEN smoothly drop it into a spectator's hand.

No need to prove it is a real bolt first by handing it out...just let it drop into someones hand without ever it leaving their sight.

(Posted on 02/04/2016)

Tested and Recommended Review by Magician560
Rating 100%

Is Strongman examinable ? Yes ! Although the gimmick can actually be pulled out if your spectator knows how to , it's not going to happen . I can freely hand the gimmick out without fear , they can examine all they want ( not for very long ) , because if they were to look at the tip , that's it . But so far after trying this out on few of my non magician friends , it flew past them . Just out of curiosity I passes the gimmick to one of them and told them its a gimmick and asked them whether they can see anything . They checked for a period and replied : no . I think its enough to prove this gimmick is fully examinable .

Overall , I do think this is well worth the price asked . I had a great joy performing this . Will be adding this to my repertoire for sure after thinking through where to place it at . The gimmick is quality made , no moving parts and can be closed precisely . I will highly recommend this.

That being said , I'm very , in fact extremely happy with the gimmick I've on me now . Thank you MOM for bringing this to the market.

(Posted on 02/04/2016)

StrongMan is inquisitively unique, bringing something new and fresh to metal bending Review by myles thornton
Rating 100%
This little gem has been my go to trick ever since I got it. It is completely self contained, that means no switches! Simple and clean to preform, perfect for a professional or a hobbyist. Lay people will believe you are Magneto and the effect is so clean you will start to believe it too!

(Posted on 01/04/2016)

Items 1 to 10 of 13 total

per page
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Strong Man by Jimmy Strange and Merchant of Magic

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Rating
Can the nut be wound all the way along the length of the bolt and back again?
I have an idea for a presentation that would require that for the story to make sense.
3
Hello I'm Thinking about Buying StrongMan by Jimmy Strange can you please tell me is it Truly a Self Working Trick? Will I need to carry something else ( Hot or Cold ) to bend restore or bend it back?
2
Is this a standard size nut and bolt that I could pick up at at hardware store? I know, this was designed to avoid a switch, but I don't mind the switch. I want to provide a souvenir.
0
Is it examinable by the spectator?
-6