Reviews

ANATE - By Dee Christopher - INSTANT DOWNLOAD review by Eric Ross
ANATE - By Dee Christopher - INSTANT DOWNLOAD
Difficulty Level (1 Easy - 5 Hard)
Satisfaction

Review

Well Thought Out, Cleaverly Ingenoius method.. This is the Trick that really killed kolossal!

(Posted on 22/04/2019)

UP THE ANTE - by Martyn Smith - INSTANT DOWNLOAD review by Gary Jones
UP THE ANTE - by Martyn Smith - INSTANT DOWNLOAD
Difficulty Level (1 Easy - 5 Hard)
Satisfaction

Up The Ante

This routine isn't for the table hopper or strolling magician, you need table space as this routine is a 'layout' type effect. If you do gambling type routines or you perform magic at parties, on the streets, parlour, down the pub or at work etc (or this could be a feature routine for that intimate cabaret type gig) then this would be very hard to top. Martyn is an airline pilot and a very clever thinker, what really stands out for me is the 'hands off' bit, once you hand out the deck you never need touch it again. Each prediction/proposition bet gets more outrageous and finishes with an impossible and logical climax.

I'm getting more and more bookings these days for private house parties and this is the type of routine you can do when they say "I wouldn't like to play cards with you." In Martyn's own words...."If you did not possess a reputation as a card-sharp before this routine, you certainly will at the end! Remember that you did not shuffle or indeed even handle the cards!"

Included with this are some really nice touches and presentational tips , ideas and scripts, also there are additional handling's for the more esoteric type of performer.

(Posted on 22/04/2019)

Splitting Atoms By A D Tritton - INSTANT DOWNLOAD review by Jeremy Hanrahan
Splitting Atoms By A D Tritton - INSTANT DOWNLOAD
Difficulty Level (1 Easy - 5 Hard)
Satisfaction

Review

It's well thought out and will surprise a lot of spectators!

(Posted on 22/04/2019)

The Five Fickle Fingers of Fate - INSTANT DOWNLOAD review by Tom Lauten
The Five Fickle Fingers of Fate - INSTANT DOWNLOAD
Difficulty Level (1 Easy - 5 Hard)
Satisfaction

Tidy, method based workers

This is a GREAT read...very refreshing to see some real, WORKABLE, real-world based effects desgined to actually entertain the audience NOT JUST the ego of the performer.

Get your hands on these tidy, method based workers... this is not another one of those irritating "power-of-suggestion-pipe-dream" manuscripts. Tom Lauten

(Posted on 21/04/2019)

Fifth Element - by Lee Smith - INSTANT DOWNLOAD review by The Quin
Fifth Element - by Lee Smith - INSTANT DOWNLOAD
Difficulty Level (1 Easy - 5 Hard)
Satisfaction

Workable ideas

I received my copy today and was very pleased with the two effects that Lee has put together. They are two very workable ideas that if presented well with good misdirection will leave them scratching their heads for a while. These are definitely strolling effects that will lead on from one another very well indeed and I am sure that there will be many chances to include these simple yet magical effects.'

(Posted on 21/04/2019)

Shipwrecked - By Jamie Daws - INSTANT DOWNLOAD review by Jordan Johnson
Shipwrecked - By Jamie Daws - INSTANT DOWNLOAD
Difficulty Level (1 Easy - 5 Hard)
Satisfaction

Review

BOTTOMS UP: Two cards are selected and signed and lost in the center of the deck. A joker is displayed and placed on top of the deck. With a wave it turns into the first selected card. Then with a flick of the wrist turns into the second selected card. You have the spectator hold their selection in their hand and when they turn it over it has changed back into the joker. You place the joker on the deck and with a snap it vanishes. You spread through the deck to find two face up jokers sandwhiching two face down cards which turn out to be the spectator's selections.

THOUGHTS: Very simple and visual magic. It is impromptu which I like and requires easy sleights. It has a nice combination of a sandwhich routine with trasnpostions and color changes. The only thing Im not fond of is that you use one joker at the beginning and then end with two jokers, but then again Im a magician and looking at it through the eyes of one and Ive done this for people and no spectator has ever said anything about it. But overall not a bad trick for an impromptu on the spot nice routine.

FINER SHINER: One or several spectators can freely shuffle the deck and freely select a card and remember it. They hand thier cards face down the magician and he loses them in the deck and then allows them to mix the cards once more. From here you cna locate the cards instantly or just read the spectators mind without ever touching the cards.

THOUGHTS: This one is my personal favorite. I just love the clever thinking behind this one. No marks on the cards and no peeking at the faces of the cards as you insert them. You actually know the cards before they are even placed in your hand. No marks on the cards and it can be done with a borrowed deck on the spot. One thing I must point out this will work better for some people than it will for others it just depends on somethings but the way things are now days most people will be able to accomplish this. Great effect and very clever thinking.

BLINDED PENDICTION: You have the spectator select a card and lose it in the deck. You introduce a Sharpie asking them to read what it says on the marker which says Sharpie marker fine point pen. You hand them the Sharpie and tell them to wave it over the deck until they feel it being attracted to one card and to stop on that card. They do and you turn the card over but it isn't theirs. You tell them that you have them hypnotized and to watch the label on the sharpie. As you wave it the logo changes to the name of their selected card. You then proceed to pull the card they selected from the deck out of your wallet further emphasizing that you hypnotized them.

THOUGHTS: This is a nice presentation for a gimmick already on the market. I love the boldness of letting them hold the sharpie..JUST LOVE IT. For me though the reveal cold be stronger as the trick revolves around the sharpie. I would either combine this with Daniel Madison's the Fine Scripture or Jordan Johnson's Migration to help and centralize the effect around the sharpie. All in all a great little effect that packs small but can play big to a group. You cant go wrong with effects that all you have to have in your pocket is a sharpie!

LOCK DOWN: The magician takes out his phone and shows that he has a four digit pin number that unlocks it and allows the spectator to try to unlock it showing that not any number will unlock it. You then state that you will psychologically force them to name the four digit passcode. They name four number and you freely and openly type in the numbers they state, and tada the phone unlocks.

THOUGHTS: This is my second favorite in the book. Great, in your face magic. No special programs or any type of tinkering with a cell phone to get this to work is done. Any phone can work and Jamie goes through different ways to accomplish this with different types of phones. This is so simple too that you can base your performance on the presentation and patter. Good good effect that everyone with a cell phone should learn, so when your in a spot with no cards or coins you can perform a five minute presentation with this effect.

SPACED: You explain to the spectators how magicians can do sleight of hand and cheat at cards. You state that you want to be a fair magician and not a cheater so you are going to have them select four cards in the fairest way possible. You remove the four Aces and say you will use these as marker cards like they do in casinos to cut the deck. You have each spectator stab their ace into the deck half way to mark the spot. You then remove the bottom card of where they stabbed. When the spectators turn over their selections they are seen to still be the four Aces.

THOUGHTS: Great, great opener for a gambling routine. I love the fairness of this and how after the selections are removed the spectator forgets that the Aces could have even been switched because they could have sworn you just took out the card below the ace and placed it on the table. Fair as that. But again good gambling routine opener, and an easy way to make spectators believe you are an expert with cards.

MENTAL FLIPPANCY: The magician spreads the cards to two spectators and two selections are made (without forces). These cards are shown around as the magicians back turned. The cards are returned and the deck given to the spectator. With 100% accuracy you name both selected cards. The spectators are then asked to imagine their cards turning over in the deck. You take the deck and spread it to find the two selections face up in the spread. No for the kicker ending the cards are turned face up to show that they are in new deck order with the two selections in their respective positions.

THOUGHTS: Again a very simple effect that packs a punch. Everything is so simple and easy but the spectators get a kick out of it. No knuckle busting magic in this one. But again jamie does a nice job of routining different magical plots into one fluid routine. It has a little mentalism, combined with an invisible deck plot, combined with a gambling type effect. So all in all a little bit of this and a little bit of that combined to a great simple routine.

CLOSING: So to sum it up, a great affordable piece of magic literature that will have effects and ideas that will go straight into your repertoire. Also most of these effects are impromptu and can be done with a borrowed deck which makes them all the more practical and workable. So don't miss out on some great ideas and effects from the mind of Jamie Daws.

(Posted on 21/04/2019)

C2C - SIGNED COIN IN SIGNED CARD - INSTANT DOWNLOAD review by Craig Petty
C2C - SIGNED COIN IN SIGNED CARD - INSTANT DOWNLOAD
Difficulty Level (1 Easy - 5 Hard)
Satisfaction

Review of C2C

When I recieved this I knew I had something special on my hands.

I should say first of all that this is a very, very cool trick. I am talking from the perspectice of working in the real world for real people. If you buy tricks just because you want to learn a brand new sleight - you are looking in the wrong place. But if you want a good solid piece of magic then you are looking in the right place!

The effect is truly unique, something that is lacking in a lot of magic effects these days. The image of a coin being ripped from the playing card is very powerful and spectators just cannot imagine how their coin got into their signed card. Probably the two best things about this trick are that it is very easy to perform (a routine that looks as good as this SHOULD NOT be this easy!) and completly angle proof. The routine can be done completly surrounded (in fact I was at a gig on Sunday when I had about 25 people all around me and this routine was no problem at all).

Yes this routine does use a gimmick which some could say is a down side, but this is the good thing - the gimmick can be in the deck for as long as you want and nobody will EVER spot it. They can freely handle just the cards and still will not be able to spot anything. In one instance I was doing a different effect and it involved a spectator picking a card - they actually picked one with the C2C gimmick. However, I went through the whole trick and nobody even knew thats how clever the gimmick is. You will destroy one gimmick every time the routine is performed, however, the booklet tells you how to make as many of these as you want. It took me a couple of hours to learn how to make a gimmick properly, but now I can make up a gimmick in a little over a minute. You DO NOT need to know how to split cards. This is a different skill that can be learnt very easy. I know Dominic at the Merchant of Magic learnt how to make these gimmicks in just a few minutes (which means he could possibly be super human but I have no solid proof!) but for the average person I would say an hour or two at the most.

When you have learnt how to make this effect you will have a killer routine that is a true reputation maker. When you pull that coin out that card people just FREAK and cannot understand how that can happen. On Thursday I made about 80 of these gimmicks and by the end of Sunday I had used them all. I tell you this so you uinderstand that this review is from the perceptive of someone who has performed this A LOT in the real world - not someone that has brought it and played around with it in their bedroom. It is honestly a real worker and will work just as well in the pub for your mates as it will at a big corporate gig. I know I am using it a lot, Dominic Reyes is using it professionally (a top close up performer in the UK) and after speaking to Oz Pearlman yesterday I know he really wants to pick one up ASAP.

My advise - if you ever perform for real people get this - you won't regret it!

Thoughts:

For anyone who does buy this effect here are somehandling ideas I have been working with!

1 - Most people have seen that effect where Chris Angel eats a coin and pulls it out his arm. Ask the spectators if they have seen that trick and whatever they say briefly descibe it to them. Tell them you will attempt to recreate the effect using a playing card, then take out the King of Spades from the deck (which has been previously gimmicked) and get the spectator to write "Chris Angel" on the face - telling them this card will represent Chris. Now lose the card in the deck and perform the rest of the effect. At the end the pulling of the coin out of the card makes sence as this is the effect Chris Angel performed that you are trying to recreate.

2 - Use the C2C as an ending to a coin cutting routine (where the coin is vanished and appears next to the selected card). A good resource for this kind of routine is Paul Gertner's book Steel and Silver or Dave Williams has a great routine. You could also use a RD coin deck and eliminate all sleight of hand.

3 - Do the effect on a married couple and have the card signed by the guy and the coin signed by the woman. Talk about the institute of marriage and two people becoming one. Vanish the coin and then show the guys card. Say just like in real life you have both become one and then rip the card open to prove it.

4 - Use the gimmicked card to perform ambitious card and then perform C2C at the end of this routine.

5 - IMO In a Flash (by Jay Sankey) and C2C work really well together. Don't forget In a Flash involves a coin burning through half the pack to find a selected card. Imagine the coin burning through half the cards but the coin has vanished. The card after all the holes is the selected card and inside the card is the coin. It is like the coin didn't manage to burn through all the cards and got stuck in the one they selected - I tried this a lot this weekend - VERY COOL.

6 - Although I haven't given it any thought as such the effect could be built into a matrix plot so that at the end of matrix C2C is performed as a kicker.

Craig. P. UK

(Posted on 21/04/2019)

Giant 3D Bunny by Goshman review by edward
Giant 3D Bunny by Goshman
Difficulty Level (1 Easy - 5 Hard)
Satisfaction

Excellent

Albert Goshman was a legend a true magician this routine brings delight to children which is the aim of the magician and the magical arts to fascinate astonish the public clean honest fun.

(Posted on 21/04/2019)

Magic Crystal Cube 4 by Tora Magic review by edward
Magic Crystal Cube 4 by Tora Magic
Difficulty Level (1 Easy - 5 Hard)
Satisfaction

Excellent

This is a old time classic beautiful eye candy.I am pleased and honoured to carry forward inventions of the magic professionals to a new generation of children.

(Posted on 21/04/2019)

Rocco's Prisma Lites SOUND Pair (Magic/Red) review by Philip
Rocco's Prisma Lites SOUND Pair (Magic/Red)
Difficulty Level (1 Easy - 5 Hard)
Satisfaction

Prisma lights/sound

Very good and versatile.

(Posted on 20/04/2019)

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5